Writer Chick Gets Real: Visits Around the Fire

It’s been a while since weThe Perfect Fire - Copy talked. How has everybody been? I’ve had my nose to the grindstone, writing stories for inclusion in a third collection. The collection, when complete, will feature a unifying theme, story-hopping characters, and a delicious stew of paranormal happenings. It’s a large project, and I’ve been doing a few other things to manage both mental well-being and to address the business end of writing.

For the former, Stephen and I have fled to the woods with our tent on a few occasions. That’s our campfire in the photo, and one of the stunning sunsets we were fortunate enough to observe. Eating campfire cuisine, breathing fresh and silent air, listening to the night wander in, and sleeping in starlight in our remote meadow – its a prescription for decompression and getting one’s head right if ever there was one.

In service to the latter, I’ve condensed my goals for the remainder of the year to production and platform – stacking up finished work and reaching out to folks via social media, meeting new friends and supporters. One of the places I’ve been finding readers is a site called Vocal, where writers of fiction and nonfiction alike, in a myriad of categories, can find a voice.

Please come and visit me there. You’ll find a selection of my dark short stories, some told in serial form, all for free. The site counts every visit and credits me for them, so your presence in my little library goes a long way toward helping this writing journey along. If you especially like anything you read, the site gives you the option to leave a tip – not at all necessary, but always appreciated. You’ll find my work under the Horror tab. Here’s the link: https://vocal.media/

 

Photo by Stephen Wenner